List of Foreign Minister of India from 1947 to 2024

The Ministry of External Affairs of India is responsible for conducting the country's foreign relations,the Foreign Minister of India is the head of this ministry and is responsible for managing India's relationships with other countries

Foreign Minister Of India

The list of Foreign Ministers of India is a long and illustrious one, with many notable personalities having held the position over the years. Some of the most prominent names include Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi, Atal Bihari Vajpayee, and Sushma Swaraj, among others. Each of these individuals has left their own unique mark on India’s foreign policy, and their contributions are still remembered and celebrated today.

India has seen many foreign ministers since of independence of India in 1947 and each foreign minister has their own importance in building India’s foreign policy. Here we bring you the complete Foreign Ministers of India list along with their basic details such as term of office, tenure and political party name with which they were associated.

Jawahar Lal Nehru became the 1st Foreign Minister of India & served for more than 16 years. Famous personalities like Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi, I.K Gujral, Chandra Shekhar, Jaswant Singh, Manmohan Singh, Pranab Mukherjee, Sushma Swaraj, S. Jaishankar also served as the foreign minister of India. In this article, we will describe some of the most interesting information about our foreign ministers.

List of Foreign Ministers of India

Here is the complete list of foreign ministers in India from the year 1947 to 2022:-

NameTerm of OfficeTenureParty Name
Jawaharlal Nehru15 August 1947 to 27 May 196416 years, 286 daysIndian National Congress
Gulzarilal Nanda27 May 1964 to 9 June 1964 13 daysIndian National Congress
Lal Bahadur Shastri9 June 1964 to 17 July 1964 38 daysIndian National Congress
Swaran Singh18 July 1964 to 14 November 19662 years, 119 daysIndian National Congress
M. C. Chagla14 November 1966 to 5 September 1967295 daysIndian National Congress
Indira Gandhi6 September 1967 to 13 February 19691 year, 160 daysIndian National Congress
Dinesh Singh14 February 1969 to 27 June 19701 year, 133 daysIndian National Congress
Swaran Singh27 June 1970 to 10 October 19744 years, 105 daysIndian National Congress
Yashwantrao Chavan10 October 1974 to 24 March 19772 years, 165 daysIndian National Congress
Atal Bihari Vajpayee26 March 1977 to 28 July 19792 years, 124 daysJanata Party
Shyam Nandan Prasad Mishra28 July 1979 to 14 January 1980170 daysJanata Party (Secular)
P. V. Narasimha Rao14 January 1980 to 19 July 19844 years, 187 daysIndian National Congress
Indira Gandhi19 July 1984 to 31 October 1984104 daysIndian National Congress
Rajiv Gandhi31 October 1984 to 24 September 1985328 daysIndian National Congress
Bali Ram Bhagat25 September 1985 to 12 May 1986230 daysIndian National Congress
P. Shiv Shankar12 May 1986 to 22 October 1986163 daysIndian National Congress
N. D. Tiwari22 October 1986 to 25 July 1987276 daysIndian National Congress
Rajiv Gandhi25 July 1987 to 25 June 1988336 daysIndian National Congress
P. V. Narasimha Rao25 June 1988 to 2 December 19891 year, 160 daysIndian National Congress
V. P. Singh2 December 1989 to 5 December 19893 daysJanata Dal
I. K. Gujral5 December 1989 to 10 November 1990340 daysJanata Dal
Chandra Shekhar10 November 1990 to 21 November 199011 daysSamajwadi Janata Party (Rashtriya)
Vidya Charan Shukla21 November 1990 to 20 February 199191 daysSamajwadi Janata Party (Rashtriya)
Chandra Shekhar20 February 1991 to 21 June 1991121 daysSamajwadi Janata Party (Rashtriya)
Madhavsinh Solanki21 June 1991 to 31 March 1992 284 daysIndian National Congress
P. V. Narasimha Rao31 March 1992 to 18 January 1993293 daysIndian National Congress
Dinesh Singh18 January 1993 to 10 February 19952 years, 23 daysIndian National Congress
Pranab Mukherjee10 February 1995 to 16 May 19961 year, 96 daysIndian National Congress
Sikander Bakht21 May 1996 to 1 June 199611 daysBharatiya Janata Party
I. K. Gujral1 June 1996 to 18 March 19981 year, 291 daysJanata Dal
Atal Bihari Vajpayee19 March 1998 to 5 December 1998261 daysBharatiya Janata Party
Jaswant Singh5 December 1998 to 1 July 20023 years, 208 daysBharatiya Janata Party
Yashwant Sinha1 July 2002 to 22 May 20041 year, 326 daysBharatiya Janata Party
Natwar Singh22 May 2004 to 6 November 20051 year, 168 daysIndian National Congress
Manmohan Singh6 November 2005 to 24 October 2006352 daysIndian National Congress
Pranab Mukherjee24 October 2006 to 22 May 20092 years, 210 daysIndian National Congress
S. M. Krishna22 May 2009 to 26 October 20123 years, 157 daysIndian National Congress
Salman Khurshid28 October 2012 to 26 May 20141 year, 210 daysIndian National Congress
Sushma Swaraj26 May 2014 to 30 May 20195 years, 4 daysBharatiya Janata Party
Subrahmanyam Jaishankar30 May 2019-Incumbent3 years, 28 daysBharatiya Janata Party
Foreign Minister of India List

Foreign Ministers of India – FAQ’s

Who was the first foreign minister of India

Jawahar Lal Nehru was the first foreign minister of independent India.

What was the tenure of Sushma Swaraj as Foreign Minister

Sushma Swaraj became the foreign minister from 26 May 2014 to 30 May 2019 and her tenure in office was 5 years 4 days.

Who is the longest serving foreign minister of India

Jawahar Lal Nehru from 15 August 1947 to 27 May 1964 (16 years, 286 days).

Who is the shortest serving foreign minister of India

V.P. Singh from 2 December 1989 to 5 December 1989 (3 days).

Official Website for Ministry of External Affairs –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Browse Lists by Category

Popular List Topics