List of High Courts in India with Jurisdiction

List of High Courts in India with Jurisdiction, establishment year, check how judges of high court are appointed, rank of Chief Justice of HC, judicial system in state

List Of High Courts In India

High Courts of India are the highest courts of appellate jurisdiction in each state and union territory of India. Here we are presenting the complete List of High Courts in India along with their establishment date and jurisdiction. The Calcutta High Court is the oldest high court in the country, established on 2 July 1862. According to a study conducted by Bangalore-based N.G.O, Daksh, on 21 high courts in collaboration with the Ministry of Law and Justice in March 2015, it was found that average pendency of a case in high courts in India is 3 years.

The buildings of Bombay High Court (as part of the Victorian and art deco ensemble of Mumbai) and Punjab and Haryana High Court (as part of the architectural work of Le Corbusier) are UNESCO World Heritage Sites. The work of most high courts primarily consists of appeals from lower courts and writ petitions in terms of Articles 226 and 227 of the constitution. Writ jurisdiction is also an original jurisdiction of a high court.

A high court exercises its original civil and criminal jurisdiction only if the subordinate courts are not authorized by law to try such matters for lack of pecuniary, territorial jurisdiction. High courts may also enjoy original jurisdiction in certain matters, if so designated specially by the constitution, a state or union law.

Indian High Courts List with Jurisdiction

Here is the complete list of high courts in India along with their establishment date and jurisdication details.

Name of High CourtEstablishedJurisdiction
Allahabad High Court17 March 1866Uttar Pradesh
Andhra Pradesh High Court1 January 2019Andhra Pradesh
Bombay High Court14 August 1862Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Maharashtra
Calcutta High Court2 July 1862Andaman and Nicobar Islands, West Bengal
Chhattisgarh High Court1 November 2000Chhattisgarh
Delhi High Court31 October 1966Delhi
Gauhati High Court1 March 1948Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Mizoram, Nagaland
Gujarat High Court1 May 1960Gujarat
Himachal Pradesh High Court25 January 1971Himachal Pradesh
High Court of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh 26 March 1928Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh
Jharkhand High Court15 November 2000Jharkhand
Karnataka High Court1884Karnataka
Kerala High Court1 November 1956Kerala, Lakshadweep
Madhya Pradesh High Court2 January 1936Madhya Pradesh
Madras High Court15 August 1862Tamil Nadu, Puducherry
Manipur High Court25 March 2013Manipur
Meghalaya High Court23 March 2013Meghalaya
Orrisa High Court3 April 1948Odisha
Patna High Court2 September 1916Bihar
Punjab and Haryana High Court15 August 1947Chandigarh, Haryana, Punjab
Rajasthan High Court21 June 1949Rajasthan
Sikkim High Court16 May 1975Sikkim
Telangana High Court1 January 2019Telangana
Tripura High Court26 March 2013Tripura
Uttarakhand High Court9 November 2000Uttarakhand
Indian High Courts List

Courts under a High Court

  • District Court
  • District Munsiff Court
  • Courts of Judicial Magistrate of First Class
  • Court of Judicial Magistrate of Second Class
  • E-courts

Judicial System in a State

Each state is divided into judicial districts which are presided over by a district and sessions judge. He is known as district judge when he presides over a civil case and session’s judge when he presides over a criminal case. He is the highest judicial authority below a high court judge. Below him, there are courts of civil jurisdiction known by different names in different states.

Under Article 141 of the constitution, all courts in India – including high courts – are bounded by the judgments and orders of the Supreme Court of India by precedence.

Appointment of Judges in Indian High Courts

Judges in a high court are appointed by the president of India in consultation with the chief justice of India and the governor of the state under Art 217 of the Constitution but through subsequent judicial interpretations. The primacy of the appointment process of a High Court Judge is on the hands of the Judicial Collegium. High courts are headed by a chief justice.

Rank of Chief Justice of High Court in India

The chief justices rank 14th (within their respective states) and 17th (outside their respective states) on the Indian order of precedence. The number of judges in a court is decided by dividing the average institution of main cases during the last five years by the national average, or the average rate of disposal of main cases per judge per year in that high court, whichever is higher.

High courts that handle numerous cases of a particular region have permanent benches established there. Benches are also present in states which come under the jurisdiction of a court outside its territorial limits.

Circuit Benches in a Court

Smaller states with few cases may have circuit benches established. Circuit benches (known as circuit courts in some parts of the world) are temporary courts which hold proceedings for a few selected months in a year. Thus cases built up during this interim period are judged when the circuit court is in session.

Source / reference link:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Browse Lists by Category

Popular List Topics