Indian States List 2022 | List of 28 States of India with their Capitals

Indian States List 2022 is available online, check out complete list of 28 states with their capitals including UP, Bihar, MP etc, also check list of 8 UTs in India

Indian States List

Indian States List 2022 is now available online along with the name of their capitals. India is the 7th largest country (by area) across the world and is 2nd in ranking on the basis of population. India lies in the southern portion of Asia Continent and is officially known as the Republic of India. There are 28 states in India and we will describe their names along with their capitals.

Indian States List is a very popular search term on google because each state has a different language and culture and people wants to know about them. India is governed by a parliamentary form of government which follows the basic principle of Unity in Diversity. India is a very large country to monitor and so their is a concept of federalism in states.

There are 28 states in India which we have arranged in alphabetical order in Indian States List 2022. This article talks about the list of the Indian States and their Capitals along with the list of Union Territories (UTs) and their capitals.

Indian States List 2022 with Capitals

Here we are describing the entire Indian States List 2022 along with the names of their capitals. This list will comprise of 28 states having an administrative, legislative and judicial capital. In most of the states, all functions are performed in a single capital while in some, there are more than 1 capitals.

Indian States and Capitals

India has a total of 28 states and 8 union territories. The 28 Indian States and their capitals are as follows.

Name of StateCapital
Andhra PradeshAmaravati
Arunachal PradeshItanagar
Assam Dispur
Chhattisgarh Raipur
Gujarat Gandhinagar
Himachal PradeshShimla
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
Madhya PradeshBhopal
Meghalaya Shillong
Mizoram Aizawl
Odisha Bhubaneswar
Rajasthan Jaipur
Sikkim Gangtok
Tamil NaduChennai
Telangana Hyderabad
Uttar PradeshLucknow
UttarakhandDehradun (Winter), Gairsain (Summer)
West BengalKolkata
Indian States and Capitals

Indian Union Territories and Capitals

Currently, India has 28 States and 8 Union Territories. The erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union Territories (UT) of J&K and Ladakh. The newly formed union territories have been formed under a reorganization act passed by the Parliament on 5-6 August 2020. At present India has 8 Union Territories.

Name of Union TerritoryCapital
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman
DelhiNew Delhi
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer), Jammu (Winter)
Indian UTs and Capitals

About Indian States and UTs

As we have already mentioned the list of Indian States & Union Territories with their capitals, now we will tell you how to differentiate b/w a state and a union territory. Out of the 8 UTs in India, three UTs have their own legislatures which are Delhi, Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry) and Jammu and Kashmir. Each union territory and state has a capital of its own.

What is a State in India

The state has its own administrative units with their own elected government. Each state’s Executive Head is the Governor. Every state in India has federal relationship with the central government. All the states are administered by the Chief Ministers who are elected by the people which means that CM is the head of the state in India.

What is a Union Territory in India

Union Territories are constituent units which are controlled and administered by the central government. The executive head of the UT is the President and all the powers of the UTs lies in the hand of the Union govt. Some UTs are administered by the administrator appointed by the President while other does not. Lieutenant Governor is the real head of the UT in India.

National Portal of India –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Browse Lists by Category

Popular List Topics