List of Lok Sabha Speakers of India

The Lok Sabha Speaker serves as the presiding authority in the lower house of India's Parliament, this individual, also an elected Member of Parliament (MP), is chosen at the commencement of each new parliamentary session by their fellow MPs

Lok Sabha Speakers List

The Lok Sabha, the lower house of India’s Parliament, has seen a distinguished list of Speakers throughout its history. Since its inception in 1952, the Lok Sabha has witnessed several eminent leaders holding the position of Speaker. Prominent figures like G.V. Mavlankar, Hukam Singh, Balram Jakhar, Somnath Chatterjee, and Meira Kumar have presided over its proceedings.

The Speaker plays a crucial role in maintaining order during debates, ensuring the House’s smooth functioning, and giving every member a fair chance to voice their opinions. Their impartiality and dedication to upholding democratic values have been instrumental in India’s parliamentary democracy.

Lok Sabha Speakers List with Party Name

Sr No.NamePeriodParty
1Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar1952-1956Indian National Congress
2M. A. Ayyangar1956-1962Indian National Congress
3Sardar Hukam Singh1962-1967Indian National Congress
4Neelam Sanjiva Reddy1967-1969Indian National Congress
5Gurdial Singh Dhillon1969-1975Indian National Congress
6Bali Ram Bhagat1976-1977Indian National Congress
7Neelam Sanjiva Reddy1977Janatha Party
8K. S. Hegde1977-1980Janatha Party
9Balram Jakhar1980-1989Indian National Congress
10Rabi Ray1989-1991Janata Dal
11Shivraj Patil1991-1996Indian National Congress
12P. A. Sangma1996-1998Indian National Congress
13G. M. C. Balayogi1998-2002Telugu Desam Party
14Manohar Joshi2002-2004Shiv Sena
15Somnath Chatterjee2004-2009Communist Party of India
16Meira Kumar2009-2014Indian National Congress
17Sumitra Mahajan2014-2019Bhartiya Janta Party
18Om Birla2019-PresentBhartiya Janta Party
List of Lok Sabha Speakers

Lok Sabha Speaker List PDF

Download list of Panel of Chairpersons, Lok Sabha from below link.

Read :

List of Total Lok Sabha Seats in Gujarat (MP of Gujarat 2023)

List of BJP Ruling States in India and BJP Chief Ministers List

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Browse Lists by Category

Popular List Topics