Param Vir Chakra Winners List 2022 PDF | Param Vir Chakra Winners Photos

Param Vir Chakra winners list 2022 PDF of all 21 recipients available, check first award winner name, prize money, photos, winners active on duty, all details here

Param Vir Chakra Winners List

Param Vir Chakra Winners List 2022: The Param Vir Chakra is the highest military award offered by the President of Republic of India. The award is conferred in recognition of displaying “exceptional & distinguished acts of valour during wartime”. Param Vir Chakra translates as the “Wheel of the Ultimate Brave”, and the award is granted for most conspicuous bravery in the presence of the enemy. It was firstly awarded on 3 November 1947.

Param Vir Chakra was designed by Eva Yuonne Linda Maday-de-Marose. This design of Param Vir Chakra contains purple ribbon and motif of Rishi Dadhichi, it has four replicas of Indra’s Vajra made from Dadhici’s bones representing his supreme sacrifice, surrounding the national emblem.

Param Vir Chakra Medal is made of bronze in 1-3/8 inch radius and is suspended from a bar. On back of the medal, Param Vir Chakra is inscripted in English and Hindi languages separated by a lotus. Param Vir Chakra is equivalent to the Victoria Cross in the United Kingdom and the medal of honor in the United States. The list of all 21 recipients of Param Vir Chakra Winners is given here.

Param Vir Chakra Awardees

As of January 2018, the medal has been awarded 21 times, of which 14 were posthumous and 16 arose from actions in Indo-Pakistani conflicts. Of the 21 awardees, 20 have been from the Indian Army, and one has been from the Indian Air Force. Major Somnath Sharma, was the first recipient of Param Vir Chakra Award. A number of state governments of India as well as ministries of the central government provide allowances and rewards to recipients of the PVC (or their family members in case of the recipient’s death).

The history of present-day Indian gallantry awards can be traced back to the rule of the East India Company, when the first formal award was instituted by Lord William Bentinck in 1834 as the Order of Merit, later renamed the Indian Order of Merit in 1902. During the First World War, the British awards system was adopted and continued through the Second World War. Post-independence, new awards were instituted on 26 January 1950, with retroactive effect from 15 August 1947. The PVC is equivalent to the Victoria Cross in the United Kingdom and the Medal of Honor in the United States.

Param Vir Chakra Winners List 2022

Major Somnath was the first prize winner of the Param Vir Chakra. The complete list of all recipients of Param Vir Chakra winners is given below.

NameRankUnitDate of actionConflict
Somnath SharmaMajorKumaon Regiment3 November 1947Battle of Badgam
Jadunath SinghNaikRajput Regiment6 February 1948Indo-Pakistani War of 1947
Rama Raghoba RaneSecond LieutenantBombay Sappers8 April 1948Indo-Pakistani War of 1947
Piru SinghCompany Havildar MajorRajputana Rifles17 July 1948Indo-Pakistani War of 1947
Karam SinghLance NaikSikh Regiment13 October 1948Indo-Pakistani War of 1947
Gurbachan Singh SalariaCaptain1 Gorkha Rifles5 December 1961Congo Crisis
Dhan Singh ThapaMajor8 Gorkha Rifles20 October 1962Sino-Indian War
Joginder SinghSubedarSikh Regiment23 October 1962Sino-Indian War
Shaitan SinghMajorKumaon Regiment18 November 1962Sino-Indian War
Abdul HamidCompany Quarter Master HavildarThe Grenadiers10 September 1965Battle of Asal Uttar
Ardeshir TaraporeLieutenant ColonelPoona Horse11 September 1965Battle of Chawinda
Albert EkkaLance NaikBrigade of the Guards3 December 1971Battle of Hilli
Nirmal Jit Singh SekhonFlying OfficerNo. 18 Squadron IAF14 December 1971Indo-Pakistani War of 1971
Arun KhetarpalSecond LieutenantPoona Horse16 December 1971Battle of Basantar
Hoshiar Singh DahiyaMajorThe Grenadiers17 December 1971Battle of Basantar
Bana SinghNaib SubedarJammu and Kashmir Light Infantry23 May 1987Operation Rajiv
Ramaswamy ParameshwaranMajorMahar Regiment25 November 1987Operation Pawan
Manoj Kumar PandeyLieutenant11 Gorkha Rifles3 July 1999Operation Vijay
Yogendra Singh YadavGrenadierThe Grenadiers4 July 1999Battle of Tiger Hill
Vikram BatraCaptainJammu and Kashmir Rifles7 July 1999Operation Vijay
Param Vir Chakra Winners List

Param Vir Chakra Winners List with Photo

Check Param Vir Chakra Winners list at Indian Army Government of India official website You can download Param Vir Chakra Winners List PDF as mentioned in this article. The image of the Param Vir Chakra Awardees is shown here.

Param Vir Chakra Awardees List
Param vir chakra awardees list

Source / Reference Link:

1 comment(s) on Param Vir Chakra Winners List 2022 PDF | Param Vir Chakra Winners Photos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Browse Lists by Category

Popular List Topics